Transportation Foundation announces award-winners


CTF logo for CT News

By the California Transportation Foundation

The California Transportation Foundation (CTF) has announced this year’s winners for the four most prestigious awards in transportation: Person of the Year, Caltrans Director Toks Omishakin; Elected Official of the Year, Hon. John Fasana; Organization of the Year, Bay Area Toll Authority; and Project of the Year, Gerald Desmond Bridge.

Finalists for 13 other categories have been announced, and winners will be unveiled at the awards ceremony at noon on May 27. This year’s virtual event is free with a suggested donation. You are invited to cheer on the winners live during the ceremony. Sign up to join the virtual program.

CTF is a 501(c)3 non-profit dedicated to supporting transportation professionals and their families. CTF provides scholarships for students studying transportation-related fields, memorial funds for fallen workers, financial support for workers injured on the job, as well as career development and mentorship opportunities. Most donations are tax deductible, and all donations are used to fund the programs CTF administers on behalf of the industry.

 If you would like to donate to CTF, visit or send a check to: 9500 Kiefer Blvd., P.O. Box 276828, Sacramento, CA 95827-6828. For more information, please visit the CTF website or contact Interim Executive Director Marnie Primmer ( or Operations Manager Mallory Fites (