Local Environmental Issues

Resources and Forms

Resources

Forms

Training

Environmental training opportunities for local agencies and their consultants can be found here.

  Partnering

Reports

Quarterly Reports

Monitoring requirements in both the 23 USC 326 CE Assignment and 23 USC 327 NEPA Assignment MOUs require Caltrans to report twice a year to FHWA. For 23 USC 327 NEPA Assignment, Caltrans must provide the FHWA California Division a report every six months that lists any approvals and decisions Caltrans has made with respect to its responsibilities under part 3 of the MOU. The 23 USC 326 CE Assignment MOU requires Caltrans to provide a list of Categorical Exclusion (CE) determinations that it approves in each fiscal quarter.

FHWA Audits

Under the 23 USC 327 NEPA Assignment MOU, pursuant to MAP-21, FHWA audits are no longer required, however, SAFETEA-LU required that FHWA audit Caltrans' performance under the Pilot Program twice a year for the first two years of the Pilot Program, and once a year thereafter to ensure that Caltrans is meeting federal requirements.

FHWA CE Monitoring Review Report:

SAFETEA-LU requires that FHWA monitor Caltrans' performance under the CE assignment program. Monitoring occurs approximately every 15 months and includes Caltrans District visits with interviews of Caltrans staff and project file reviews.

  Contacts
Headquarters
Name Responsibilities Telephone Numbers E-mail
Kelly Hobbs,  Office Chief NEPA Assignment and Environmental Compliance

Office: (916) 653-5800

Mobile: (916) 838-9085

Kelly.Hobbs@dot.ca.gov
Jonathan Oshalim Environmental Database and Reporting (559) 415-6313  Jonathan.Oshalim@dot.ca.gov
Guadalupe (Lupe) V. Jiménez Environmental Policy and Training Coordinator (Districts 2, 6, 9, & 11).

Office: (916) 651-6874

 
Lupe.Jimenez@dot.ca.gov
Neil Peacock Environmental Policy and Training Coordinator (Districts 1,3,7, & 8) (916) 653-5800 Neil.Peacock@dot.ca.gov
Haiyan Zhang Environmental Policy and Training Coordinator (Districts 4, 5, 10, and 12). (510) 286-5235  haiyan.zhang@dot.ca.gov
District Local Assistance Nepa Assignment Coordinators
Gail St. John North Region (Districts. 1, 2, 3) (Quality Control Reviewer) (530) 741-7116 gail.st.john@dot.ca.gov
Shane Gunn Central Region (Districts 5, 6 and 9) (Quality Control Reviewer) (559) 445-6310 shane.gunn@dot.ca.gov
District Senior Environmental Contacts
Districts DLA Senior Environmental Contacts Telephone Numbers E-mail
1 James Mcintosh  (707) 441-4695 james.mcintosh@dot.ca.gov
2 Ian Howat (530) 225-3484 ian.howat@dot.ca.gov
3 Laura Loeffler (530) 741-4592 Laura.Loeffler@dot.ca.gov
4 Thomas Holstein (510) 286-6371 Thomas.Holstein@dot.ca.gov
5 Randell Lavack (805) 549-3182 Randy.Lavack@dot.ca.gov
6 Shane Gunn (559) 445-6310 shane.gunn@dot.ca.gov
7 Michael Enwedo (213) 897-3245 Michael.Enwedo@dot.ca.gov
8 Aaron Burton (909) 383-2841 Aaron.Burton@dot.ca.gov
9 Forest Becket (760) 872-0681 forest.becket@dot.ca.gov
10 Dominic Vitali (209) 948-7427 Dominic.Vitali@dot.ca.gov
11 Kevin Hovey (619) 688-0240 Hovey.Kevin@dot.ca.gov
12 Charles Baker (949) 724-2252 Charles.Baker@dot.ca.gov

Please feel free to send comments regarding this web site to the DLA Webmaster.