Local Environmental Issues

Resources and Forms

Resources

Forms

Training

Environmental training opportunities for local and tribal agencies, please visit the Local Assistance Technical Program website.  To received DLA News & Training Announcements for local and tribal agencies, sign up to receive the weekly announcements here.

  Partnering

Reports

Quarterly Reports

Monitoring requirements in both the 23 USC 326 CE Assignment and 23 USC 327 NEPA Assignment MOUs require Caltrans to report twice a year to FHWA. For 23 USC 327 NEPA Assignment, Caltrans must provide the FHWA California Division a report every six months that lists any approvals and decisions Caltrans has made with respect to its responsibilities under part 3 of the MOU. The 23 USC 326 CE Assignment MOU requires Caltrans to provide a list of Categorical Exclusion (CE) determinations that it approves in each fiscal quarter.

FHWA Audits

Under the 23 USC 327 NEPA Assignment MOU, pursuant to MAP-21, FHWA audits are no longer required, however, SAFETEA-LU required that FHWA audit Caltrans' performance under the Pilot Program twice a year for the first two years of the Pilot Program, and once a year thereafter to ensure that Caltrans is meeting federal requirements.

FHWA CE Monitoring Review Report:

SAFETEA-LU requires that FHWA monitor Caltrans' performance under the CE assignment program. Monitoring occurs approximately every 15 months and includes Caltrans District visits with interviews of Caltrans staff and project file reviews.

  Contacts
Headquarters
Name Responsibilities Telephone Numbers E-mail
Office Chief
Kelly Hobbs NEPA Assignment and Environmental Compliance Mobile: (916) 838-9085 Kelly.Hobbs@dot.ca.gov
Environmental Policy and Training Coordinators
Quint Chemnitz Districts 1, 3, 8, 11 (279) 444-9563 quint.chemnitz@dot.ca.gov
Guadalupe (Lupe) V. Jiménez Districts 2, 3, 6, 9 (916) 651-6874 Lupe.Jimenez@dot.ca.gov
Haiyan Zhang Districts 4, 5, 10, 12 (510) 286-5235 haiyan.zhang@dot.ca.gov
Environmental Database and Reporting
Jonathan Oshalim Districts 1-12 (559) 415-6313  Jonathan.Oshalim@dot.ca.gov
Resource Agency Coordinators
Sammantha Soto Districts 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11 (279) 599-3198 sammantha.soto@dot.ca.gov
Danielle Elledge  Districts 2, 3, 7, 8, 10, 12 (279) 599-3341 danielle.elledge@dot.ca.gov
District Senior Environmental Contacts
Districts DLA Senior Environmental Contacts Telephone Numbers E-mail
1 Darrell Cardiff (707) 298-0904  Darrell.Cardiff@dot.ca.gov
2 Chris Fazzari (530)782-2108 chris.fazzari@dot.ca.gov
3 Laura Loeffler (530) 741-4592 Laura.Loeffler@dot.ca.gov
4 Thomas Holstein (510) 286-6371 Thomas.Holstein@dot.ca.gov
5 Sunny McBride (805) 406-7563 Sunny.McBride@dot.ca.gov
6 Phillip Chick (Acting) (559) 383-5244 Phillip.Chick@dot.ca.gov
7 Michael Enwedo (213) 335-0060 Michael.Enwedo@dot.ca.gov
8 Aaron Burton (909) 383-2841 Aaron.Burton@dot.ca.gov
9 Cecilia Boudreau (916) 307-0640 Cecilia.Boudreau@dot.ca.gov
10


11 Kevin Hovey (619) 688-0240 Hovey.Kevin@dot.ca.gov
12 Gabriela Duran (657) 328-6157 Gabriela.Duran@dot.ca.gov

Please feel free to send comments regarding this web site to the DLA Webmaster.