District 6 Local Assistance

Caltrans' Local Assistance Program oversees more than one billion dollars annually available to over 600 cities, counties and regional agencies for the purpose of improving their transportation infrastructure or providing transportation services. This funding comes from various Federal and State programs specifically designed to assist the transportation needs of local agencies. Annually, over 1,200 new projects are authorized through the Local Assistance Program of which approximately 700 are construction projects.

The Local Assistance Program, made up of the Division of Local Assistance in Headquarters and 12 District Local Assistance Offices, assists Local and Regional Agencies by ensuring specific program requirements are met, project applications are processed, and projects are delivered in accordance with Federal and State requirements. The overhead associated with providing this support is only $27 M, or 2% of the capital funds that flow through to the local agencies.

As one of twelve District Local Assistance Offices under the Local Assistance Program, we provide assistance to Local and Regional Agencies in the Counties of Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, and Tulare to help meet Federal and State requirements in order to receive funding for various Transportation projects and services.

Program Information

Publication, Training, Reports and Other Information.

Please note: Programs not listed below may be found within the items listed in the links for Publication, Training, and Reports.

Specific Program Information

ADA/EEO

District 6 contact:
Rodney Bowen
(559) 488-7304
rodney.bowen@dot.ca.gov

BTA - Bicycle Transportation Account

District 6 contact:
Kirk Anderson
(559) 445-6273
kirk.anderson@dot.ca.gov

CMAQ/RSTP/TEA AB 1012 Compliance

District 6 contact:
James Perrault
(559) 445-5417
james.perrault@dot.ca.gov

Cooperative Work Agreement Coordinator

District 6 contact:
Susan Kawate
(559) 445-5914
susan.kawate@dot.ca.gov

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE)

District 6 contact:
Rodney Bowen
(559) 488-7304
rodney.bowen@dot.ca.gov

ER - Emergency Relief Program

District 6 contact:
Susan Kawate
(559) 445-5914
susan.kawate@dot.ca.gov

EEM - Environmental Enhancement and Mitigation Program

District 6 contact:
Kirk Anderson
(559) 445-6273
kirk.anderson@dot.ca.gov

Federal/State Exchange Match

District 6 contact:
Noel Bucu
(559) 445-5833
noel.bucu@dot.ca.gov

HBP - Highway Bridge Program

District 6 contact:
Kirk Anderson
(559) 445-6273
kirk.anderson@dot.ca.gov

ATP - Active Transportation Program

District 6 contact:
Pedram Mafi
(559) 445-6470
pedram.mafi@dot.ca.gov

HSIP - Highway Safety Improvement Program

District 6 contacts:
Charles Garabedian
(559) 445-5590
charles.garabedian@dot.ca.gov

Inactive Projects Coordinator

District 6 contact:
Susan Gonzalez
(559) 445-6246
susan.gonzalez@dot.ca.gov

Maintained Mileage

District 6 contact:
Mohsen Sanawi
(559) 324-7718
mohsen.sanawi@dot.ca.gov

Planning, Programming, and Monitoring

District 6 contact:
Susan Kawate
(559) 445-5914
susan.kawate@dot.ca.gov

Quality Assurance Program

District 6 contact:
Kirk Anderson
(559) 445-6273
kirk.anderson@dot.ca.gov

Safe Routes to School (SR2S and SRTS)

District 6 contact:
Mohsen Sanawi
(559) 324-7718
mohsen.sanawi@dot.ca.gov

Jim Perrault, Senior Transportation Engineer
855 M Street, Ste.200 (93721)
P. O. Box 12616
Fresno, CA 93778-2616
Public #(559) 445-5417, FAX # 559-445-5425, Fax 8-421-5425
E-Mail Address: James_Perrault@dot.ca.gov
Counties: Fresno, Madera, Kings, Kern, Tulare

Caltrans Division of Local Assistance, Headquarters.