California Walk and Bike Technical Advisory Committee

History and Formation

In 2018, Caltrans created a new California Walk and Bike Technical Advisory Committee (CWBTAC) made up of external partners to provide regular strategic input and technical guidance on Caltrans’ complete streets and active transportation efforts.  The new committee replaces the California Bicycle Advisory Committee, which was established in 1992 and provided input to Caltrans on bicycle facilities for several decades. 

The CWBTAC charter (PDF) outlines the framework of the California Walk Bike Technical Advisory Committee, as developed and approved by the members of CWBTAC. 


The diverse CWBTAC membership represents the following constituencies: north, south, and central geographies; urban, suburban, and rural community types, including disadvantaged communities; and members representing the needs and interests of users of all ages and abilities. Membership includes: 

CWBTAC Members

Name Organization Region
Alexa Kolosky Kern County Public Works Dept. Central Valley
Amy Pendergast Shasta County Health and Human Services Agency

North State

 Caro Jauregui California Walks Statewide
Chris Dougherty Sacramento Area Council of Governments (SACOG) Sacramento
Chris Holm Walk Sacramento Sacramento
Chris Romano San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG) San Diego
Dave Campbell Bike East Bay Bay Area
Dave Synder California Bicycle Coalition


David Azevedo American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) Statewide
David Caneer City of Watsonville Central Coast
Hannah Keyes Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG) Southern CA
Jennifer Rice City of San Luis Obispo, Dept. of Public Works Central Coast
Jonathan Matz Safe Routes Partnership Statewide
Josh Wolf GHD, Inc. North State
Julia Griswold UC Berkeley Safe Transportation Research and Education Center (SafeTREC) State Agency
Kathleen Naoum City of Thousand Oaks Central Coast
Keith Williams Shasta Regional Transportation Agency North State
Malahat Owrang City of Redwood City, Dept. of Community Development and Transportation Services Bay Area
Margot Ocañas City of Los Angeles, Dept. of Transportation Southern CA
Marven Norman Inland Empire Biking Alliance Inland Southern CA
Megan Johnson City of Sacramento, Dept. of Public Works Sacramento
Rachel Junken City of Long Beach, Dept. of Public Works Southern CA
 Sam Miller Los Angeles County, Dept. of Public Works  Los Angeles
Sheperson Wilburn California Strategic Growth Council State Agency
Sumire Gant Sumire Gant Consulting Southern CA
Tracy McMillan Nelson\Nygaard Bay Area
Victoria Custodio California Dept. of Public Health State Agency


Alexandra Doerr Westbrook

Associate Transportation Planner