Title VI Program

Title VI Program Overview

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination by recipient of Federal assistance on the basis of race, color, and national origin, including the denial of meaningful access for limited English proficient (LEP) Persons. The Title VI Program refers to a document that is developed by a Federal Transit Administration (FTA) recipient to demonstrate how the recipient is complying with Title VI Requirement. Title VI Programs must be updated every three years. Recipients agree to follow all applicable provisions of the most recent edition of the FTA Circular 47021B, “Title VI Requirement and Guidelines for Federal Transit Administration Recipients,” which became effective October 1, 2012.

Caltrans Non-Discrimination Policy Statement

Processes and Forms

Program Requirements

Sub-recipients shall submit Title VI Programs to the primary recipient, Caltrans, from whom they receive funding, in order to assist in its compliance efforts. Tools to assist sub-recipients in preparing their Title VI Plan are: