Interagency Transportation Equity Advisory Committee (EAC)

Accessibility Assistance: Caltrans makes every attempt to ensure our documents are accessible. Due to variances between assistive technologies, there may be portions of a document that are not accessible. Where documents cannot be made accessible, we are committed to providing alternative access to the content. Should you need additional assistance, please get in touch with us at

The Interagency Transportation Equity Advisory Committee (Committee) is a priority for the California Transportation Commission (Commission), California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA), and the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans). The Committee is intended to elevate diverse and historically marginalized voices to advise our agencies on how to achieve meaningful outcomes in transportation equity, environmental justice, and equitable economic opportunities, especially as related to transportation planning and programming.

From mid-2020 through early 2021, the Commission, CalSTA, and Caltrans released racial equity statements highlighting each agency’s strong commitment to equity. To implement these statements, each agency identified the development of an equity advisory committee as a tangible tool to implement meaningful change. This strategy was memorialized in the Climate Action Plan for Transportation Infrastructure (CAPTI).

One Committee consisting of up to 15 members serving two-year staggered terms will make recommendations to the Commission, CalSTA, and Caltrans. Recommendations will focus on tools and guidelines for transportation planning and funding programs. The Committee will meet pursuant to the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act. The Commission, CalSTA, and Caltrans retain final decision-making authority.

For additional background information please click CTC Memorandum (PDF).

For more information on purpose, scope, and membership responsibilities of the Committee, please click Interagency Equity Advisory Committee (PDF).


Equity Advisory Committee: Membership

Application for the first EAC was held from August 8, 2022- September 2, 2022.

A Frequently Asked Questions and Informational Webinar held on August 25, 2022.

Applicants recommended for the Committee were notified in early October 2022.

Membership recommendations were considered and approved publicly at the will be considered at the Commission’s October 12-13 meeting.

  1. Martha Armas-Kelly
  2. Alexandria Contreras
  3. Michael DeSpain
  4. Ana Gonzalez
  5. Herb Hastings
  1. Peggy Martinez
  2. Amber Novey
  3. Nailah Pope-Harden*
  4. Valerie Sanchez
  5. Axel Santana
  6. Connie Stewart*
  1. Randy Torres-Van Vleck*
  2. Stella Ursura
  3. Cheryl Viegas-Walker
  4. William Walker
  5. Kristine Williams
  6. *Former CTC Equity Advisory Roundtable Member

Upcoming Equity Advisory Committee Meetings

December 15, 2022, 11:00 AM-2:00 PM (Virtual)

  • EAC Meet and Greet

March 21, 2023 (Hybrid- LA Metro Board Room)

  • Kick-Off Meeting