

The Pacific Southwest Region University Transportation Center

Fact Sheet

The Pacific Southwest Region University Transportation Center (PSR UTC) was selected as the United States Department of Transportation (US DOT) Region 9 UTC under the Fixing America's Surface Transportation (FAST) Act. This center is housed in the Sol Price School of Public Policy at the University of Southern California

Established in 2016, the PSR UTC is led by the University of Southern California and includes seven partners: California State University, Long Beach, University of California, Davis, University of California, Irvine, University of California, Los Angeles, University of Hawaii, Northern Arizona University, and Pima Community College. The Pacific Southwest Region UTC will address the FAST Act research priority area of Improving Mobility of People and Goods.

The PSR UTC was awarded a five-year grant totaling approximately \$13.4 million from the US DOT, authorized under the FAST Act. The funds are used for transportation research, workforce development, technology transfer and education. US DOT awarded a one-year extension of time and money through December 30, 2023.

The PSR UTC conducts an integrated, multidisciplinary program of research, education and technology transfer aimed at improving the mobility of people and goods throughout the region. The PSR UTC program is organized around four themes: 1) technology to address transportation problems and improve mobility; 2) improving mobility for vulnerable populations; 3) Improving resilience and protecting the environment; and 4) managing mobility in high growth areas.

The PSR UTC supports research that addresses the unique combination of problems in the region, serves as a clearinghouse for curriculum to improve transportation education programs, addresses workforce development through targeted training, community college partnerships and professional development, and conducts a comprehensive, multimedia dissemination program.

<u>Current Five-Year Contract Term</u>: ~June 1, 2018 – January 31, 2023 Additional One-year extension term through December 30, 2023 *new funding supporting this time extension but has not yet been determined.