
   

  
  

Working With Contractors 

Individuals, organizations, agencies, and businesses may adopt segments of highway and have the required 
adoption work performed by a professional business through contract or agreement.  Adopt-A-Highway 
(AAH) Program literature refers to businesses hired by adopters as “contractors” and adopters using 
contractors as “sponsors.”  A contractor can be hired to perform all or only a portion of the adoption tasks. 
Adopters may hire more than one contractor but, due to the additional paper work required, this is not 
recommended. The California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) has no authority or involvement in 
the contracts established between sponsors and contractors.  Sponsors are responsible for obtaining and 
discontinuing the services of contractors. 

District AAH Coordinators can provide applicants with a list of authorized AAH service contractors.  In 
order to be named on the list, the contractor must provide proof of insurance and licensing.  Requirements 
vary and are detailed on the following pages. Failure of the contractor to keep insurance policies and 
licenses current, or to abide by the AAH Encroachment Permit Special Provisions, shall invalidate the 
contractor’s permit, but not the sponsor’s permit. 

The AAH Program Application contains a check box to indicate that the applicant plans to hire a contractor 
to perform adoption work.  A specific contractor need not be selected when an AAH Program Application 
is submitted.  However, when a requested site becomes available for adoption, both the sponsor and their 
contractor will need to sign and return AAH Permit Applications.  An established adopter can choose to 
hire a contractor at any time during their adoption period. 

Insurance Requirements 

Liability insurance:  Contractors with employees shall maintain $1,000,000 of general liability insurance 
for each occurrence, plus $2,000,000 of excess liability insurance (totalling $3,000,000). 

Contractors who do not utilize paid employees shall maintain $1,000,000 in general liability insurance for 
each occurrence.  No excess liability insurance is required for contractors without employees. 

All certificates of liability insurance shall name the State of California Department of Transportation as 
additional insured. 

Vehicular insurance:  Contractors shall carry $1,000,000 in vehicular liability insurance. 

Workers compensation insurance:  Contractors that utilize paid employees shall carry $1,000,000 in 
workers compensation insurance. 

AAH service contractors may be insured by “Non-Admitted” carriers (brokers not licensed by California). 

Business License Requirements 

Contractors must maintain business license(s) as required by each county and city where work is to be 
performed. 
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Contractors State License Board Requirements 

Contractors State License Board (CSLB) requirements for adoptions vary by activity and are detailed 
below.  CSLB licenses must be held by an owner of the business who’s name appears on the AAH 
Encroachment Permit. 

The AAH Program does not permit subcontracting. 

LITTER REMOVAL 

Hand collection of litter: No CSLB license is required. 

GRAFFITI REMOVAL 

Painting over graffiti: 
B:  General Building Contractor or C-33:  Painting and Decorating Contractor 

WILDFLOWER OR SEEDLING TREE AND SHRUB PLANTING 

Soil preparation prior to planting (tilling, digging, and/or soil amendment): 
A:  General Engineering Contractor or C-27:  Landscape Contractor 

Manual planting of seedling trees, shrubs, or wildflowers: 
A:  General Engineering Contractor or C-27:  Landscape Contractor 

Hydroseeding or drill-seeding of wildflowers: 
A:  General Engineering Contractor or C-27:  Landscape Contractor 

or  C-61/D-59:  Limited Specialty/Hydroseed Spraying (hydroseeding only) 

Truck watering: No CSLB license is required. 

VEGETATION CONTROL 

Hand removal of weeds: No CSLB license is required. 

Mowing or weed-whipping: No CSLB license is required. 

Pruning of shrubs or trees less than 15 feet in height: No CSLB license is required. 
(Pruning of taller trees or shrubs is not permitted under the AAH Program.) 

Mulching: 
A:  General Engineering Contractor or C-27:  Landscape Contractor 

Herbicide Application: No CSLB license is required. 
NOTE: Any person who engages in pest control for hire is required to be licensed by the Department of 
Pesticide Regulation. 
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Department of Pesticide Regulation Requirements 

Contractors hired by adopters to perform herbicide application on the State’s right-of-way must be licensed 
by the California Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR).  DPR’s licensing requirements vary with the 
type of business hired and the location of the herbicide application.  DPR licenses must be held by an 
owner of the business whose name appears on the AAH Encroachment Permit. 

The AAH Program does not permit subcontracting. 

HERBICIDE APPLICATION ON HIGHWAY ROADSIDES 

Contractor must have a Pest Control Business License and have at least one person in a supervisory 
position that holds a Qualified Applicator’s License (QAL) with the “C. Right-of-Way” pest control 
category. 

HERBICIDE APPLICATION AT PARK AND RIDES 

Contractor must have a Pest Control Business License and have at least one person in a supervisory 
position that holds a QAL with the “C. Right-of-Way” pest control category. 
or 
Contractor must have a Pest Control Business License and have at least one person in a supervisory 
position that holds a QAL with the “B. Landscape Maintenance” pest control category. 
or 
Contractor must have a Maintenance Gardener Pest Control Business License and have at least one 
person in a supervisory position that holds a QAL or a QAC with the “B. Landscape Maintenance” pest 
control category. 

PEST CONTROL RECOMMENDATION 

A Pest Control Recommendation is required by law. 

An adopter’s plans and schedules must indicate that herbicides will be used, but the Pest Control 
Recommendation (detailing the type of herbicide and its application rate) is not due until shortly before the 
herbicides are applied. 

Prior to each application, the adopter must submit a Pest Control Recommendation to the District AAH 
Coordinator. The District AAH Coordinator will have the Pest Control Recommendation approved by a 
District Landscape Specialist.  Once approved, a copy will be kept in the adopter’s file, a copy will be sent 
to the Maintenance Supervisor, and the original returned to the adopter.  After application, a “Pesticide 
Usage Report” must be submitted to the Maintenance Supervisor listed on the adopter’s AAH Encroachment 
Permit. 

Only Caltrans-approved herbicides can be applied within the State’s right-of-way.  Caltrans districts will 
provide a list of approved herbicides to adopters.  Caltrans’ employees will not write Pest Control 
Recommendations for adopters or their contractors.  Adopters must have this service provided by a DPR-
licensed, Agricultural Pest Control Adviser. 
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