California Coastal Commission Processing Timelines Summary

Application/Submittal Type	Application/Submittal Review/Response*	Hearing Deadline**	Extension
Coastal Development Permit ¹	30-days	180-days	90-days+
Coastal Development Permit Reconsideration ²	None	None	None
Coastal Development Permit Extension	30-days	180-days	90-days+
Coastal Development Permit Exemption	None	None	N/A
Coastal Development Permit Emergency	N/A ³	Next Available	N/A
Coastal Development Permit Appeal			
Review of Final Local Action Notice ⁴	5 working days	N/A	N/A
Appeal Period	10 working days		
Substantial Issue Determination		49-days	49-day Waiver ⁵
De Novo Hearing on Appeal		None	N/A
Local Coastal Program Amendment			
Land Use Plan	10 working days+	90-days	1-year
Implementation Plan	10 working days+	60-days ⁶	1-year
Public Works Plan		60-days	1-year
Notice of Impending Development (NOID)	5 working days	30-days	Date-Certain+
Public Works Plan Amendment	5 working days+	60-days	1-year
Federal Consistency Certification	30-days	180-days	Date-Certain+
Federal Consistency Determination	14-days	60-day	15-days+
Negative Determination	14-days	60-day	15-days+
Notice of Violation/Restoration Order	N/A ⁷	Next Available	90-days ⁸

^{*}Application/submittal review and response process may involve multiple cycles of review for Coastal Commission determination that application/submittal is "filed/complete" for further processing. Applicants may appeal a determination of application "incompleteness" to the Commission per California Code of Regulations, Title 14 § 13056, which must be scheduled for Commission hearing no later than 60-days after the Commission's receipt of such appeal. Deemed complete by operation of law.

^{**}All hearing deadline periods begin on the date the application/submittal is deemed "filed/complete" for processing by Coastal Commission staff. Note that periods for Commission review and hearing are often reduced for Coastal Development Permit Waivers and Immaterial Coastal Development Permit Amendment and Extension requests, which do not require a public hearing for regular calendar item or staff report, and assuming no objections are received regarding waiver/immaterial determination.

⁺ May be extended with applicant/agency agreement.

¹ Includes request for Waiver and/or Amendment of Coastal Development Permit.

² Reconsideration request must be filed by applicant of record within 30-days of final Commission action on permit.

³ Emergency permit application should be made to the Executive Director in writing, by fax, in person or by telephone prior to commencing work, where time allows. Where immediate emergency action is required, notice of the action shall be provided to the Executive Director within 3 days of discovery of the emergency, and a written statement for the emergency action submitted to the Executive Director within 7 days of taking such action. Emergency actions are reported to the Commission at the next available hearing and, in some cases, must be receive a follow-up coastal development permit pursuant to regular coastal development permit procedures.

⁴ Commission staff review of Final Local Action Notice to determine completeness and begin/provide notice for appeal period.

⁵ Requires applicant agreement in writing to 49-day waiver of substantial issue hearing.

⁶ Combined Land Use Plan and Implementation Plan Submittals subject to 90-day hearing deadline for Land Use Plans.

⁷ Objection to recordation of Notice of Violation or Restoration Order (statement of defense form) must be submitted in writing to Executive Director within 20 days of mailing of such Notice unless an extension is granted by the Executive Director.

⁸ Upon timely receipt of an objection to Notice of Violation the item must be scheduled for the next available hearing, but which may be postponed to no more than 90-days after receipt of the objection.