California Department of Transportation
 

Office of Drilling Services

The Office of Drilling Services (ODS provides statewide drilling services for Geotechnical Services (GS) and other Departmental functions such as Construction and Maintenance. ODS operates standard and specialized equipment to handle the many unique and challenging investigations required to support the Department's mission. Drilling equipment is stored at multiple locations across the State to better serve clients and for quick response to emergencies. All Drill requests and project correspondence should include a copy sent to drill.requests@dot.ca.gov.

OFFICE CHIEF

Doug Brittsan
Phone: (916) 227 - 7004
E-mail: Doug.Brittsan@dot.ca.gov

BRANCH CHIEFS

North Liaison
Materials/ Warehouse

David Thomas

(916) 227-5450

David.J.Thomas@dot.ca.gov

West & South 2 Liaison
Equip/ Safety

Laurel Jensen

(916) 227-4407

Laurel.Jensen@dot.ca.gov

South 1 Liaison
Contracts

Bogdan Komorniczak

(916) 227-5863

Bogdan.Komorniczak@dot.ca.gov


Scheduling

Mark Richards

(916) 227-5448

Mark.Richards@dot.ca.gov

SENIOR FOUNDATION DRILLERS

Equipment

Michael Santos

(916) 227-5446

Michael.Santos@dot.ca.gov

Purchasing

Carl Boling

(916) 227-5442

Carl.Boling@dot.ca.gov

Mud Disposal

David Orlandi

(916) 227-5431

David.Orlandi@dot.ca.gov

Scheduling

Wade Taylor

(916) 227-4420

Wade.Taylor@dot.ca.gov

Inventory

Robert Fletcher

(916) 227-5446

Robert.Fletcher@dot.ca.gov

 

 

Services Available

  • Drilling methods including:
    • Wire line (94 mm)
    • Auger
    • Conventional open hole
    • Drive or push systems
  • Boring depths to 1,000 ft.
  • Boring diameters from 4 to 10 inches.
  • Core diameters from 1.5 to 2.5 inches.
  • Soil sample diameters from 1 to 3 ¾ inches.
  • Sampling methods including:
    • Punchcore
    • Standard Penetration Test (SPT)
    • Shelby tubes
    • Lexan tubes
    • Brass tubes (2" or 2 ½")
  • Instrument installations including:
    • Slope inclinometer casing
    • TDR cable
    • Piezometers
  • Monument setting.
  • Borehole backfill

Work Requests

Work requests submitted to the Office of Drilling Services must include a Drilling Request, Site Safety Plan, and Site Assessment Questionnaire. Forms are available here:

Submit work requests to the "Scheduling" Branch Chief listed above.