California Department of Transportation

 

Drilling Services Branch

The Drilling Services Branch provides statewide drilling services for Geotechnical Services (GS) and other Departmental functions such as Construction and Maintenance. DS operates specialized equipment to handle the many unique and challenging investigations required to support the Department's mission. Drilling equipment is stored at multiple locations across the State to better serve clients and for quick response to emergencies.

 

BRANCH CHIEFS

Scheduling, Contracts

Mark Richards

(916) 425-2434

Mark.Richards@dot.ca.gov

Materials, Warehouse, Equipment, Safety, Mud Disposal

David Thomas

(916) 227-5450

David.J.Thomas@dot.ca.gov

FOUNDATION DRILLER CONTACTS

Scheduling

Wade Taylor

(916) 227-4420

Wade.Taylor@dot.ca.gov

Equipment

Norm Webb

(916) 227-5863

Norman.Webb@dot.ca.gov

Purchasing

Carl Boling

(916) 227-5442

Carl.Boling@dot.ca.gov

Mud Disposal

Carl Boling

(916) 227-5442

Carl.Boling@dot.ca.gov

Warehouse/Inventory

Jack Eaton

(916) 947-3540

Jack.Eaton@dot.ca.gov

 

WORK REQUESTS

Request work in accordance with the Offices of Geotechnical Design - Quality Management Plan using the current version of the request forms (see the GS Quality Management System intranet page).

Submit all work request documents to drill.requests@dot.ca.gov.

 

RESOURCES

 

INSTALLATION DETAILS: PIEZOMETERS, SLOPE INCLINOMETERS, GEOPHYSICAL CASING

 

CONSULTANT CONTRACTS

 

CUSTOMER SURVEYS