California Department of Transportation
 

Transportation Art

photo of transportation art photo of transportation art photo of transportation art
San Bernardino, CA Los Angeles, CA Lindo Channel, Chico, CA

General

The Department recognizes the effects of transportation facilities on local communities, and encourages the integration of these facilities into their surroundings to enhance and reflect the aesthetic, environmental, scenic, and cultural values of the affected community. The Department collaborates with local stakeholders to enhance existing transportation facilities to meet the goals and expectations of both the local community and the public-at-large.

LA Marathon Mural

The design of the transportation system should reflect community values and characteristics that may be achieved through enhancements that include art. The Transportation Art Program provides a way for the Department to permit enhancement of existing transportation facilities by local communities and artists.

San Juan Capistrano Art

Transportation Art may include graphic or sculptural artwork, either freestanding or placed on required engineering features (such as soundwalls, retaining walls, bridges, bridge abutments, bridge rails, or slope paving) that expresses something special about a community’s history, resources or character.

Refer to the Chapter 29 of the Project Development Procedures Manual for specific information on the Transportation Art Program.

Freeway Murals

Transportation Art Contact Information

Lori Butler, Statewide Coordinator
Landscape Architecture Program
1120 N Street, MS 28,
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 654-5151,
lori.butler@dot.ca.gov
Dahlia Persoff, District 7
Landscape Architecture
100 South Main Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
(213) 897-0975.
dahlia.persoff@dot.ca.gov
Ron Flory, Districts 1 and 2
Landscape Architecture
1031 Butte Street
Redding, CA 96001
(530) 225-3109
ron.flory@dot.ca.gov
Ray Desselle, District 8
Landscape Architecture
464 W. Fourth Street, MS 1062
San Bernardino, CA 92401-1400
(909) 383-4529
ray.desselle@dot.ca.gov
T. Chris Johnson, District 3
Landscape Architecture
703 B Street (PO Box 911)
Marysville, CA 95901
(530) 741-4436
tchris.johnson@dot.ca.gov
Jim Hibbert, District 9
Landscape Architecture
500 South Main Street
Bishop, CA 93514
(760) 872-0783
jim.hibbert@dot.ca.gov
David W. Eng, District 4
Landscape Architecture
111 Grand Avenue (P.O. Box 23660)
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
(510) 286-5920
david.eng@dot.ca.gov
Brad Cole, District 10
Landscape Architecture
2015 E. Shields Avenue, Suite 100
Fresno, CA 93726-5428
(559) 230-3134
brad.cole@dot.ca.gov
Corby Kilmer, District 5
Landscape Architecture
50 Higuera Street
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
(805) 542-4679
corby.kilmer@dot.ca.gov
Stephen Alvarez, District 11
Landscape Architecture
4050 Taylor Street
San Diego CA. 92110
(619) 688-2542
stephen.alvarez@dot.ca.gov
Elbert Cox, District 6
Landscape Architecture
2015 E. Shields Avenue Suite 100
Fresno, CA 93726-5428
(559) 230-3146
elbert.cox@dot.ca.gov
Eric Dickson, District 12
Landscape Architecture
3337 Michelson Drive, Suite CN380
Irvine, CA 92612-1699
(949) 724-2814
eric.dickson@dot.ca.gov

Updated: November 6, 2013