California Department of Transportation
 

Gateway Monument Program - Guidelines

Rocklin Gateway Orange County Gateway Nevada County Gateway California Youth Portal Tehachapi Gateway Copperopolis Gateway Santa Margarita Gateway Fall River Gateway Sutter Creek Gateway Amador City Gateway Rocklin Gateway

 

General

A gateway monument is defined as any freestanding structure or sign, non integral or non required highway feature, constructed within the State right-of-way, which communicates the name of the city, county, or township (Local Entity). Gateway monuments are solely planned, designed, funded, constructed and maintained by the Local Entity.

Authority

After completion of a 4-year demonstration program on gateway monuments, the Department received approval from FHWA on April 28, 2009 to make the Gateway Monument program permanent.

Policy

Refer to the Gateway Monument Guidelines.

Final Report

Click here for the Gateway Monument Final Report, dated April 28, 2009, covering the 4-year demonstration period, January 1, 2005 through December 31, 2008.

Gateway Monument Demonstration Program Evaluation

This document quantifies the impact of the Gateway Monument Demonstration Program, including how such signs affect highway safety as well as how gateway monuments contribute to the local economy, community image and sense of place.

Gateway Monument Program - District Contacts

For Gateway Monument Program information, please contact your local contact identified below. If you do not know which District you are located within, please click here for a District map.

James T. Van Bonn, District 1
Encroachment Permits
1656 Union St
Eureka, CA 95501
(707) 445-6385
james.van.bonn@dot.ca.gov
Dahlia Persoff, District 7
Landscape Architecture
100 South Main Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
(213) 897-0463
dahlia.persoff@dot.ca.gov
Stacey Barnes, District 2
Encroachment Permits
1657 Riverside Dr., MS 20
Redding, CA 96001
(530) 225-3314
stacey.barnes@dot.ca.gov
Ray Desselle, District 8
Landscape Architecture
464 W. Fourth Street, MS 1062
San Bernardino, CA 92401-1400
(909) 383-4529
ray.desselle@dot.ca.gov
T. Chris Johnson, District 3
Landscape Architecture
703 B Street (PO Box 911)
Marysville, CA 95901
(530) 741-4436
tchris.johnson@dot.ca.gov
Terry Erlwein, District 9
Traffic Operations
500 South Main Street
Bishop, CA 93514
(760) 872-5215
terry.erlwein@dot.ca.gov
David Eng, District 4
Landscape Architecture
111 Grand Avenue (P.O. Box 23660)
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
(510) 286-5918
david.eng@dot.ca.gov
Brad Cole, District 10
Landscape Architecture
2015 E. Shields Avenue, Suite 100
Fresno, CA 93726-5428
(559) 230-3134
brad.cole@dot.ca.gov
Dennis Reeves, District 5
Landscape Architecture
50 Higuera Street
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
(805) 549-3509
dennis reeves@dot.ca.gov
Stephen Alvarez, District 11
Landscape Architecture
4050 Taylor Street
San Diego, CA 92110
(619) 688-2542
stephen.alvarez@dot.ca.gov
Elbert Cox, District 6
Landscape Architecture
2015 E. Shields Avenue Suite 100
Fresno, CA 93726-5428
(559) 230-3146
elbert.cox@dot.ca.gov
Eric Dickson, District 12
Landscape Architecture
3337 Michelson Drive, Suite CN380
Irvine, CA 92612-1699
(949) 724-2814
eric.dickson@dot.ca.gov

 

Gateway Monument Program - Headquarters Contacts

Lori Butler, Statewide Coordinator
Division of Design
1120 N Street, MS 28,
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 654-5151
lori.butler@dot.ca.gov
Chris Rossmiller
HQ Coordinator for Districts 1, 2, 3, and 4

1120 N Street, MS #28
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 654-5636,
chris.rossmiller@dot.ca.gov
Don Chin
HQ Coordinator for Districts 5, 6, 9 and 10

1120 N Street, MS #28
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 654-4814,
don.chin@dot.ca.gov
Dawn Grinstain
HQ Coordinator for Districts 7, 8, and 12

1120 N Street, MS #28
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 654-4704,
dawn.grinstain@dot.ca.gov
William Andersen
HQ Coordinator
for District 11
1120 N Street, MS #28
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 651-8416,
william.andersen@dot.ca.gov
 

Updated: 04-24-2014