California Department of Transportation
 

Community Identification - Guidelines

 
Caltrans Community ID 1 Caltrans Community ID 2

General

Caltrans recognizes and supports the concept of enriching the cultural and visual environment for transportation system users and local communities by using a collaborative approach to facilitate and coordinate integration of community identification within the State highway right-of-way.

Community identification is defined as images or text that conveys information about a region, community, or area. There may be a local desire for new and existing transportation facilities to represent the communities in which they are located.

Required engineered highway features, such as, but not limited to, sound walls, retaining walls, bridges, bridge abutments, bridge rails, and slope paving, may provide the opportunity for the placement of visual, graphic, or sculptural representations of a community’s identity, including its history, resources, or other defining characteristics.

Community identification will typically be provided and maintained by the local agency.

Community identification differs from transportation art in that community identification may include text and must be placed on a required engineered highway feature.

Community identification differs from gateway monuments in that a gateway monument is defined as any freestanding structure or sign, not integral to required highway facilities.

Refer to the Chapter 29 of the Project Development Procedures Manual for specific information on Community Identification.

Community Identification - Contact Information

For Community Identification information, please contact your local contact identified below. If you do not know which District you are located within, please click here for a District map.

Ron Flory, District 1
Landscape Architecture
1031 Butte Street
Redding, CA 96001
(530) 225-3109
ron.flory@dot.ca.gov
Dahlia Persoff, District 7
Landscape Architecture
100 South Main Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
(213) 897-0463
dahlia.persoff@dot.ca.gov
Stacey Barnes, District 2
Encroachment Permits
1657 Riverside Dr., MS 20
Redding, CA 96001
(530) 225-3314
stacey.barnes@dot.ca.gov
Ray Desselle, District 8
Landscape Architecture
464 W. Fourth Street, MS 1062
San Bernardino, CA 92401-1400
(909) 383-4529
ray.desselle@dot.ca.gov
T. Chris Johnson, District 3
Landscape Architecture
703 B Street (PO Box 911)
Marysville, CA 95901
(530) 741-4436
tchris.johnson@dot.ca.gov
Terry Erlwein, District 9
Traffic Operations
500 South Main Street
Bishop, CA 93514
(760) 872-5215
terry.erlwein@dot.ca.gov
David Eng, District 4
Landscape Architecture
111 Grand Avenue (P.O. Box 23660)
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
(510) 286-5918
david.eng@dot.ca.gov
Brad Cole, District 10
Landscape Architecture
2015 E. Shields Avenue, Suite 100
Fresno, CA 93726-5428
(559) 230-3134
brad.cole@dot.ca.gov
Dennis Reeves, District 5
Landscape Architecture
50 Higuera Street
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
(805) 549-3509,
dennis reeves@dot.ca.gov
Stephen Alvarez, District 11
Landscape Architecture
4050 Taylor Street
San Diego, CA 92110
(619) 688-2542
stephen.alvarez@dot.ca.gov
Elbert Cox, District 6
Landscape Architecture
2015 E. Shields Avenue Suite 100
Fresno, CA 93726-5428
(559) 230-3146,
elbert.cox@dot.ca.gov
Eric Dickson, District 12
Landscape Architecture
3337 Michelson Drive, Suite CN380
Irvine, CA 92612-1699
(949) 724-2814
eric.dickson@dot.ca.gov

 

Headquarters Contacts

Lori Butler, Statewide Coordinator
Division of Design
1120 N Street, MS 28,
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 654-5151
lori.butler@dot.ca.gov

Updated November 6, 2013