California Department of Transportation - District 2

The Office of Local Assistance partners with Local Agencies to aid them with the requirements of Federal and State Transportation funding.

Caltrans Office of Local Assistance- District 2

  • In District 2, Local Assistance provides a resource to the 18 cities and 7 counties in Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity Counties. We work in partnership with the Departments of Public Works and Transportation from each agency to assist in the delivery of their Federal and State funded transportation projects.  From project implementation to project completion, we ensure that all Federal and State funds designated to local agencies are used in a timely, cost effective manner, and for the purpose intended.
  • Local Assistance also works in conjunction with the Regional Transportation Planning Agencies (RTPA's) and Local Transportation Commissions (LTC’s).

Contact for District 2 Local Assistance:
Ian Howat - Branch Chief Office of Local Assistance, District Local Assistance Engineer.  (530) 225-3484.

Statewide, the 12 District Local Assistance Offices administer a variety of federal and state transportation funding programs and coordinate with over 600 public agencies to contribute approximately $1.2 billion annually to California's transportation system.

For further information on a wide variety of funding programs, environmental information, manuals, forms, etc., please go to the Caltrans (HQ) Local Assistance Home Page at