California Department of Transportation

Welcome to the District 5 Bicycling Page

Monterey Bike Path




Highway 1 Chip Seal Information





Amgen Tour
The Tour of California will once again travel through District 5 Visit the official Tour of California web site

amgen tour of california logo2007 Tour of California bike race
Bicycle Map

All routes on the State Highway System are open to bicycle travel except areas where specifically prohibited. The Caltrans District 5 Bicycle Map shows State highway segments in Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey, San Benito, and Santa Cruz counties where bicycling is prohibited and  alternative routes. The map is currently out of print and undergoing a revision. However, the map can be downloaded and printed on standard letter-sized paper.

Caltrans District 5 Bicycle Map

Questions on the map may be directed to
Melissa Streder, District 5 Bicycle Coordinator.

It should be noted that the Caltrans District 5 Bicycle Map only details areas of bicycle travel on the State Highway System. Travelers should consider consulting local agency maps, which offer more detailed bicycle route information for all roads in each county.

Santa Cruz County
Santa Barbara County - South
Santa Barbara County - North
San Luis Obispo County
Monterey County
San Benito County


Last updated: August 23, 2017