Calling all Children, Grandchildren, Nieces and Nephews of Caltrans Employees

Caltrans employees’ children, grandchildren, nieces and nephews 17 years of age and under can now submit highway safety art for the 2017 poster contest. This is an opportunity for the children in your family to share their thoughts and creative ideas about the importance of driving safely in or near a work zone and to be part of the educational outreach for this very important life-saving message.  Deadline for submissions is Monday, March 6, 2017.

Guidelines

Contest Theme:

The poster contest theme is highway safety.  Either the “Be Work Zone Alert” and/or “Move Over” phrase must appear on the poster. Artwork will be judged for its creative expression of encouraging drivers to slow down and save lives in highway work zones.

Eligibility: 

Applicants must be 17 years of age or younger and must be a child, grandchild, niece or nephew of a Caltrans employee.

Age Categories:   

Entries Must Include the Following:

Specifications: 

Artwork must be submitted on white 8 ½ x 11 paper.  Bold and/or bright colors reproduce best.  No computer-generated or altered artwork will be accepted. Poster can be portrait or landscape (vertical or horizontal). DO NOT FOLD ARTWORK. 

Deadline: 

Entries must be RECEIVED by your district’s liaison no later than Monday, March 6, 2017.   Entries received after that date will be disqualified for the poster contest, but will remain the property of the state and may be used in future projects.  Refer to poster contest liaison list for address and liaison information.

District Liaisons:

HQ:                 Caroline Moreno(916) 653-8879 
                        caroline.moreno@dot.ca.gov
                        1120 N Street, MS 49                        
                        Sacramento, CA 95814                                                                                  
                                   
District 1:       Eli Rohl – (707) 441-3998
                        Eli.Rohl@dot.ca.gov
                        1656 Union Street                                                                  
                        Eureka, CA 95501                                                                 

District 2:       Maria “Lupita” Franco – (530) 225-3013   
                        Maria.Franco@dot.ca.gov
                        1657 Riverside Drive                                                 
                        Redding, CA 96001                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
District 3:       Liza Whitmore – (530) 634-7640                  
                        liza.whitmore@dot.ca.gov                                                     
                        703 B Street  
                        Marysville, CA 95901                                                            

District 4:       Rachelle Maricq – (510) 286-3911
                        rachelle.maricq@dot.ca.gov
                        111 Grand Avenue
                        Oakland, CA  94612

District 5:        Autumn Woolworth – (805) 549-3461
                        autumn.woolworth@dot.ca.gov
                        50 Higuera Street
                        San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

District 6:       Tami Cox – (559) 488-4082
                        tami.cox@dot.ca.gov
                        1352 W. Olive Avenue
                        Fresno, CA 93728

District 7:       Karina Vargas – (213) 897-7602
                        Karina.Vargas@dot.ca.gov
                        100 South Main Street, 13th Floor
                        Los Angeles, CA 90012

District 8:       Shelli Lombardo (909) 383-6290   
                        shelli.lombardo@dot.ca.gov
                        464 W. Fourth Street, MS 1209
                        San Bernardino, CA 92401-1400
                       
District 9:       Florene Trainor – (760) 872-0603
                        florene.trainor@dot.ca.gov
                        500 South Main Street
                        Bishop, CA 93514

District 10:     Warren Alford (209) 948-7977
                        Warren.Alford@dot.ca.gov
                        1976 E. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Blvd
                        Stockton, CA 95205
                                                                       
District 11:     Carmen Sandoval – (619) 688-2556
                        Carmen.Sandoval@dot.ca.gov
                        4050 Taylor Street, MS 121
                        San Diego, CA 92110

District 12:    Florita Cruz – (657) 328-6009
                       Florita.Cruz@dot.ca.gov
                       1750 East 4th Street, Suite 100
                       Santa Ana, CA 92705