California Department of Transportation

2006 Outstanding Management and Engineering in Transportation Awards


Robert L. Buckley, Division Chief
Division of Engineering Services

Robert Buckley has spent the past 26 years of his career with the Caltrans. He currently manages the Engineering Services Division with a staff of 1,800 employees concentrated on bridge design, bridge construction, geotechnical design, materials engineering, and seismic design criteria. Prior to this assignment, he was the Chief Design Engineer responsible for setting highway and bicycle geometric standards for both State highway and local agency facilities.

The Charles H. Purcell Award recognizes valued contributions by Caltrans engineering managers to the field of transportation engineering and transportation program management. Mr. Purcell served as California’s State Highway Engineer from 1928 to 1943 and as Director of Public Works until 1951. He established California’s extraordinary record of leadership and integrity in transportation engineering and guided the construction of the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge and the State Highway System.


Dennis R. Jagoda, Hydraulic Engineer
District 3

Dennis Jagoda is a Registered Civil Engineer currently serving as the District 3 Hydraulics Engineer, a post he has held for the past 16 years. He pioneered the use of remote controlled camera surveillance to assess the condition of existing culverts, which has had a great affect on the way the District tracks the condition of existing culvert inventory while improving personal safety. This remote camera system is a model throughout the North Region and the State. He also assisted local law enforcement by using the remote camera system to help investigators check abandoned wells for evidence in a capital murder case.

The Karl Moskowitz Award annually recognizes contributions by Caltrans registered engineers to the field of transportation engineering. Mr. Moskowitz served as a traffic engineer for the State Department of Transportation for 27 years. Much of his work in freeway design and traffic flow appeared at the outset of the Interstate Highway program and was used extensively by planners and engineers nationwide, thus becoming national standards. He conceived the idea of computer-controlled lane metering systems.


Cindy McKim, Chief Financial Officer
Department of Transportation

Cindy McKim has devoted nearly all of her professional career of 28 years to Caltrans, serving 20 years in an executive capacity in many key non-registered engineering positions. She currently serves as the Chief Financial Officer and is responsible for Caltrans’ financial management and policy, including oversight of an annual operating budget of $12 billion and programming State and Federal transportation funds. Through her executive leadership, she has energized the effort to replace the old mainframe accounting system TRAMS with a new information technology project called IFMS (Integrated Financial Management System), garnering support from the Department of Finance.

The Emerson Rhyner Award annually recognizes contributions to the field of transportation by non-engineering Caltrans managers. Emerson Rhyner was Deputy Chief of the Division of Right of Way and the Legal Division for California’s highway program in the early 1960s. He represented the Department in legislative affairs, acting as a liaison to the Legislature as well as representing the State’s transportation interests in Washington D.C. His efforts helped define the relationship between state and national interests and established the roles of state and local governments in the early days of freeway system development.


Peter Siegenthaler, Principal Engineer, East Span SFOBB Construction Manager
District 4, Toll Bridge Construction

Peter Siegenthaler has served the Department for the past 22 years. He is currently a Principal Transportation Engineer and the Construction Manager for the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge (SFOBB) East Span replacement projects. These projects are by far the largest Caltrans has ever taken on with a total estimated value of $4.5 billion. Once Peter began work on the SFOBB, he immediately brought his technical expertise to bear in resolution of difficult technical problems and contract administration issues that were singular to the SFOBB due to its construction, retrofit strategy, traffic, and location.

Susan Hida, Senior Bridge Engineer
Division of Engineering Services, Structure Design

Susan Hida has served the Department for nearly 15 years as an engineer in Structure Design in the Division of Engineering Services (DES). She is currently the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Coordinator for DES. Susan also serves as the California member on two critical AASHTO Subcommittees on Bridges and Structures: T-5 Loads and Load Distribution and T-10 Concrete Design. In this capacity, she is responsible for helping shape the future of AASHTO bridge design standards. She has diligently developed expertise in a wide range of technical issues relative to bridge analysis, design, and performance. She has successfully communicated California issues nationally, earning the respect of transportation leaders across the nation.

The James E. Roberts Award annually recognizes outstanding contributions by Caltrans registered engineers to the field of transportation structures. Mr. Roberts served as a structural engineer and manager for over half a century, including 15 years as California’s State Bridge Engineer. He spearheaded Caltrans’ $4.5 billion seismic retrofit program and oversaw nearly $50 million in seismic research projects. He was named to the National Academy of Engineering in 1996; the only state-employed engineer to be so honored. Mr. Roberts retired in 2001 as Chief Deputy Director.